Atlas news

ISO 45001 and it’s benefits

ISO 45001 and it’s benefits

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

Our topic today is about the most important occupational safety and health standards (OHSMS) linked with this Council, ISO 45001. Let’s learn about this certification together. 

What is KSA’s position on this certificate?

Is it worth investing in ISO 45001 certification or not?

This is what will be clarified in the following article about its definition and its benefits to institutions & companies, and we will leave the answer to you thereafter!

What does the ISO 45001 certification mean?

It is the global standard for Occupational Health And Safety Management Systems (OHSMS), and the alternative to ISO18001. It aims to reduce occupational injuries and illnesses of employees and provide a safe working environment, which promotes & protects physical and mental health.

Do you know what is the major difference between ISO 45001 and OHSAS 18001?

The main difference between ISO 45001 and OHSAS 18001 is the reactive and proactive manner conducted by these

45001 focuses on risks and proactive actions, while OHSAS 18001 focuses only on risks, not solutions. For that, ISO 45001 standards are designed to substitute OHSAS 18001.

Your organization’s certification of  ISO 45001 is real and important proof to tell people it has implemented the best systems to manage the safety and protection of its employees in various fields of occupational health and safety. Also, one of the largest companies that have adopted the ISO 45001 international standard system is Saudi Arabian Oil Co (Aramco)

Since the establishment of the ISO 45001 system, the organization has been keen to strictly implement it to protect their employees. Moreover, They ask all the companies that work with them to obtain the certification and they review it periodically.

Why was the ISO 45001 standard created?

ISO 45001 was mainly created to improve the way organizations deal with health and safety risks.

Despite the current safety efforts, work-related injuries, illnesses, and deaths are still all too common. According to the International Labor Organization (ILO), 2.78 million people die each year from work-related illnesses or accidents. To put that in perspective, by the time you finish reading this article, about 15 people will have died. In addition, 374 million non-fatal work-related injuries cause a work stoppage of more than 4 days each year.

This is how the ISO 45001 standard was born. More than 70 countries have participated in its development. Today, organizations around the world struggle to achieve compliance or certification.

 Do you know the benefits of getting an ISO 45001 certificate?

The benefits of obtaining ISO 45001 certification are:

  • Achieving occupational health and safety requirements
  • Creating a competitive advantage at the local and international level
  • Getting more trust in your organization
  • Making your workplace safer and more organized.
  • Having more customers and employees.
  • Increasing productivity and rate of return on investment
  • Reducing the diseases and injuries
  • Reducing the rate of injuries and their impact on insurance
  • Preventing risks and potential opportunities
  • Improving the management control process
  • Dealing with potential risks and opportunities 

How do you attain the ISO 45001 certificate?

The International Standards Organization (ISO) doesn’t actually provide certification, so if you want to obtain an ISO 45001 certificate, your organization or manufacturer has to be audited through an accredited third-party company.

To implement ISO 45001, you can follow the steps below:

  • Preparation
  1. Understanding what ISO 45001 standard is 
  2. Identifying gaps against related requirements
  3. Identifying and implementing necessary actions and procedures
  4. Documenting efficacy & compliance.
  • Certification

Stage 1: Auditing by an independent accredited third-party

Stage 2: Evaluating the readiness and audit documentation 

Stage 3: Auditing on-site 

Stage 4: correcting non-compliance issues

Stage 5: Once you meet all the requirements, you will be awarded to get the ISO 45001 certification.

Stage 6: Auditing annually to maintain the validity of the certificate. 

By getting ISO 45001 certificate, organizations prove that they have taken into consideration all the required steps to protect the employees by eliminating ineffective practices, which assists the workers to provide more within a prescribed timeframe because of the used efficient systems.

If you are looking for our services or you have some questions, you can contact us via our email ( or call on (‭00966112080550)‬. And we will be very glad to assist you.



Atlas commits to be the national icon and attraction in the field of engineering Support Services in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.